A History of Questers in Arkansas

When a Quester from San Franciso, CA, moved to Arkansas in 1970, she gathered together some of her new friends and formed Quapaw Chapter #519 in the Little Rock area. By 1977 there were five more chapters: Fairfield Bay #800; Petit Jean #819; La Petit Roche #822; Clara B. Eno #830; and Arkopolis #867. Now, in 2015, there are thirteen chapters throughout the state. On May 2, 1980, Arkansas' chapters became an "Organized Quester State", with the first state-wide meeting held in Little Rock. The National President brought the State Quester Charter to the meeting and installed the first State officers. Over the years, chapters have been formed and dissolved, but Arkansas' first chapter, Quapaw, is still meeting and actively supporting not only their local and state preservation and restoration projects, but the goals of The Questers International as they have for 45 years!

Our Honor Roll of Arkansas State Questers Past Presidents

1980-1982 Marie Blackburn

1982-1984 Dorothy Veirs

1984-1986 Betty Mullenix

1986-1988 Margaret Porter

1988-1990 Lily Jaeger

1990-1992 Avanelle Poehler

1992-1994 Katheryn Kittrell

1994-1996 Claudia Reed

1996-1998 Mary Copeland

1998-2000 Joan Clifford

2000-2002 Liz Brown

2002-2004 Willa Wells

2004-2006 Jeanne Stokebrand

2006-2008 Kathy Dickerson

2008-2010 Pam McAllister

2010-2012 Linda Hunter

2012-2014 Carol Moseley

2014-2016 Camille Hatcher